Keep Portland Weird!

One of Portland’s mottos is “Keep Portland Weird.”  It’s a fun and funky slogan. It’s even painted all over one wall in Old Town.  It sums up part of the Portland experience.  (I’m not sure if the Benz really fits with the motto, though).

In Old Town, you can find one of Portland’s weird, fun, and funky eateries – Voodoo Doughnut.  It’s been featured on many a Food Network show, I’m sure.  I don’t have access to that, but I found a travelportland.com video on YouTube you can savour.

We had to venture for ourselves to see what it was about. So drove over to Old Town.  We followed Burnside all the way to 3rd Avenue.  Old Town just butts up against Chinatown here along Burnside.  Voodoo Doughnut is actually along 3rd Avenue though.  When you arrive, you will notice that there are some areas set up around the shop for people to line up.  My coworker had been here and she said that line up was really long on a Saturday. Luckily for us, it was a Tuesday afternoon.

We entered the shop with little trouble.  There was a small line of about a dozen people inside the place.  So we were lucky.  There’s a lot on the menu and a lot on display.  It’s almost overwhelming.  It was so overwhelming for me that I actually ended up ordering something safe.  I just wasn’t in the mood for some reason.  What a shame.  I really should have tried the Bacon Doughnut at least.  Next time.

the voodoo chandelier

Another fun, and possibly weird in some people’s eyes, is a giant statue of Paul Bunyan.  We made a wrong turn coming from our hotel and instead of going onto the freeway, we ended up on Interstate Avenue in north Portland.  We came across a giant statue of Paul Bunyan at the intersection of Denver Avenue and Interstate Avenue.  It was a very pleasant surprise to see giant Paul just standing there with axe in hand just staring over cars in the intersection and the MAX light rail pass in front of him from time to time.

Historic Paul Bunyan statue in north Portland (photo by Cacophony on Wikipedia)

Keeping with weirdness in Portland, this apartment building on Hawthorne Boulevard looks like the mason didn’t care anymore and just threw the bricks together in a mic-mash. Or maybe he asked his elementary school children to work on the front while he was doing the rest of the building.

Oh, and what did I eat from Voodoo Doughnut?  We took our doughnuts to go because we weren’t very hungry.  We ate them later that night back at the hotel.  Mine got the squashed treatment in the bag.  Wifey got a crueller and I got a McMinville Cream (similar to a Boston Cream).  Yes, I know.  Very safe and boring.  Oh well.  Like I said.  Next time. Just have to leave something to do the next time we visit Portland.

My McMinville Cream from Voodoo Doughnut

2 comments

    1. It totally caught me by surprise as we made our way up Interstate Avenue. I did not expect it there. Too bad I didn’t have time to whip out my own camera for a photo.

Leave a Reply

