Marriott Copley Place Boston

For the conference portion of my stay in Boston, we were in the Marriott Copley Place Boston.  It’s in the middle of the Back Bay area of downtown Boston.  It’s a very convenient location.

There are two shopping centres connected into the hotel.  Copley Place is built directly into the hotel and the Prudential Center is accessible by an enclosed pedestrian bridge over Huntington Avenue.  A Shaw’s Supermarket is directly across the street.  That’s where I got some yogurt and fruit for my breakfast.  More importantly, it’s where I bought my NyQuil for my cold and cough.

The rooms were what you expect of a Marriott.  Everything was clean and comfortable in my room.  My only beef is that the side of the bed near the night table is all caved in after lots of people sitting up and watching TV in bed.  So I had to sleep on the outside of the bed away from the night table.  Otherwise, my head would be lower than my feet when I lay down.

beds in my room at the Marriott Copley Place

I should add, though, that one of my coworkers had dirty towels in her room when she arrived.  She asked for a new room and promptly got one.

Normally at the Marriott Copley Place, wired internet is complimentary and wireless internet costs ~US$14 a night.  Thankfully, wireless internet was complimentary for all guests who were registered with our conference.  That was a godsend because I didn’t want to pay for roaming charges or did I want to go into the lobby just use the Internet.

hotel room desk

On the third floor were the business center, pool and fitness centre.  I brought my swimming trunks in the hopes of trying out the pool.  However, because I came down with my cold on my first full day in Boston, I was in no shape to hit the pool.

Chair in hotel room

In terms of food nearby, we did venture out a little, but ended up going to the Cheesecake Factory twice during our stay.  Not exactly a unique place to have a meal, but at least you know what you are getting.  One time, on my own, I ventured out to a restaurant called the Parish Cafe. It was recommended on my Lonely Planet Boston City Guide app for the Back Bay area.

Night view from the hotel room

In terms of public transit, there are two Green Line stations within walking distance – Prudential and Copley stations.  An Orange Line stop can be found if you walk through Copley Place and exit on the other end at Dartmouth Street.  There, you will find Back Bay Station.  That’s where I picked up my Charlie Card.

So the Marriott Copley Place was great to stay for its central location.  Boston is a great walking town, so nothing is too far out of reach if you are willing to walk a little.  However, the nightly rate is not for the budget crowd.  For work, it was great, but I probably would never come here on personal travels unless there was a really good deal.

the lobby escalators of the Boston Marriott Copley Place

Leave a Reply

