Julia Baier’s Japanese Bathhouse Photos

JULIA BAIER – Sento – the Japanese Bathhouse, 2005

Many years ago, I had come across an article on the now defunct PingMag website, an online English-language Japanese design magazine.  They featured photos about Japanese Bathhouses known as sento.  I’ve talked about my personal experiences in Japanese sento and onsen back in 2009.

While cleaning up some of my old posts, I re-stumbled upon my original post and found that the links were dead.  I thought it might be a good idea to revisit Julia Baier’s photo essay on sento.  It’s an intimate photographic look at a part of Japanese culture that many foreigners do not experience.  The choice of classic black and white photography only adds to the nostalgia of this Japanese public bathing tradition. Check out all 20 photos in Julia’s online portfolio.

photo – Julia Baier

Leave a Reply

