Sunny Winter Walk Along The Drive

As usual, I am way behind on my photos.  We had a great stretch of sunny weather in January.  After all this late February Pineapple Express weather we’ve had lately, it’s nice to think that Vancouver is not all rain and brollies in the winter.

One January Friday as the sun was setting on the city and time was setting on the Waldorf, I did a walking loop from Venables Street to 1st Avenue along Commercial Drive.  It’s a part of town that I don’t frequent much, but it has a lot of life along the sidewalks and some neat storefronts into which to peer.

a rare Vancouver public washroom facility in Grandview Park

It was so cold as the sun set, I made my last stop at Turk’s Coffee Bar.  Apparently they’ve been “non-conforming since 1992.” I’m not sure what that means for a coffee shop in the middle of a highly caffeinated city, but oh well.  I grabbed a hot chocolate (now that’s non-conforming to the coffee trend) to warm up my fingers.

As I am posting this January photo walk to my blog, spring is starting here in March.  The sun is shining in Vancouver. Flowers are peeking out of the ground and buds are showing on some of the trees.  The telltale sign of spring for me, though, is that my allergies are starting to surface.  Excuse me as I blow my nose again.

Leave a Reply

