Vancouver to Tokyo to Chitose

ANA flight NH115

Having just finished my Hong Kong photos, I am already onto my next trip. My wife and I had been planning something big in celebration of her finishing grad school. So here we are back in Asia. This time, we have decided to do something different. We are learning Japanese in Sapporo, Japan. That’s where we could get beer, ramen, and desserts.

…leaving on a jet plane…

There are no direct flights to Sapporo from Vancouver. So I had to go through Haneda Airport in Tokyo and catch a connecting flight to Sapporo. No time for staying in Tokyo this time around, but I managed to see the Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Sky Tree off in the distant cityscape.

Japanese landscape from the sky

It was at least a 14 hours later before I arrived at New Chitose Airport outside Sapporo. I arrived around 11pm at night. It would have taken at least another 1.5 hours to get to our shared accommodation in Sapporo. I was so happy that we had decided not to take the train in that evening. Instead, we stayed overnight at the Shin Chitose Airport Onsen. It was a much needed hot springs experience after being couped up in a plane for so long. Too bad the Relaxation Room with at least 40 other people wasn’t as peaceful. Lots of snoring through the night. I should have brought earplugs.

Rapid Airport train time

It wasn’t until the next morning that we truly took the train into Sapporo. Here’s to a new adventure.

On board the Rapid Airport to Sapporo

 

Leave a Reply

